Kaihua Temple, formerly known as Guanyin Shrine, was built by the first Magistrate of Changhua County Tan Ching-Cheng in Yongzheng 2 Qing Dynasty (1724). Changhua County was set up in the first year of the Yongzheng Period, but the County Offices were not completed until the sixth year. Therefore, before the county office was completed, administrative staffs of Changhua County worked in the Office of Zhuluo County (today’s Chiayi County) until the County Office was ready for occupancy. Therefore, Kaihua Temple was known to be the political and education center of Changhua County, since it was established before the county offices. It is also the very first temple in the history of Changhua County.In Qianlong 18 Qing Dynasty, Changhua residents raised the funds to renovate the temple. During the Qianlong Period, Chen Chou-Chuan and his militia rose against Qing Dynasty. During that time, Kaihua Temple was the command center for the anti-Qing Empire militia and the temple was half destroyed. In Daoguang 20 Qing Dynasty (1840) the temple was rebuilt, but in Xianfeng 10 Qing Dynasty it was destroyed again in a fire. During that time an uprising led by Tai Chao-Chun was underway; therefore, the temple was not rebuilt until the Tongzhi Period. During the Japanese Colonial Period, the Shanchuan Gate was removed to make way for road expansion and another temple gate was built at the north side of Meng Road inscribed with the name Kaihua Temple. The main hall enshrines Guanyin Bodhisattva accompanied by the 18 Arhans. The rear hall enshrines the Goddess of Birth and Deities of Small Pox, and the left wing enshrines the tablets of the temple contributors.