Built in 1743， it was originally called the Yuansing or Yanzih Temple. In 1891， it was completely destroyed by a fire. After being relocated a number of times， it was eventually moved to its present location on the mountain and renamed Yuanheng Buddhist Temple. When the main shrine was built in 1973， an ancient tablet dating from 1772 was discovered. This provided a historical record of the names of the head priests that had served the temple in the past. These records revealed the temple has been in existence for over three centuries， making it one of the oldest temples in Taiwan. The temple is dedicated to the Bodhisattva Guanyin. It exhibits stately and elegant architecture. The platform in front of the temple offers excellent views of the entire city. It is particularly scenic at sunrises and sunsets.