The building housing the Museum is one of the Port's historical buildings. Built in 1914， its original function was Kaohsiung Harbor's Customs and Duties Office and remained so until the end of the Japanese Colonial era. In 1943， it became the Harbor Affairs Bureau and served as the administrative headquarters for the Kaohsiung Port. Despite its great history， this two-story Baroque style red brick building was in danger of being demolished. However in 1997， due to its historical and cultural value， the Kaohsiung Harbor Bureau restored it and turned it into the Kaohsiung Harbor Museum. It was opened to the public in 2002 as part of the Bureau's anniversary celebration. It is now managed by the Kaohsiung Harbor Bureau， MOTC; its collection houses the complete records of the port's history as well as precious cultural artifacts from over a century of port operations.