Built in 1912， this was formerly a Taipei Prefecture Industrial Institute during the Japanese colonial period. It was called the Auxiliary Industrial Institute of the Civil Administration Department by the Governor General Office， and was later renamed the Prefecture Industrial Institute in 1921. It was Taiwan's most prominent industrial institute of this particular period， and was considered to be the cradle of industrial talents in the early days. The institute was home to several departments， including chemical engineering， electronic engineering， mechanical engineering， architecture， etc.The walls of the building are laid with red bricks， with protruding pillars to make the façade more streamlined. Outside the two-story building are corridors that connect to other buildings. The air vents below the windows are made of cast iron， embedded with the institute's crest. The entire building makes use of exquisite brickwork that brings out the design spirit of strict proportion. It possesses both historical and cultural significance of the universities of science and technology， as well as Taiwan's extant campus buildings from the early 20th century.