Worship Scholars Arch was built to commend Lin Chao-ying for funding the restoration of the Confucian Temple. During Japanese Occupation Period， the building's eaves and tiles were damaged. The arch was relocated to the current lakeside location in Zhongshan Park and reassembled when Nanmen Rd. was opened in 1934. In 1992， the columns became and were in danger of collapsing， hence the City Government implemented urgent repairs to create the appearance seen today.